The Cruel Prince: A Review

26032825I’ve finally read The Cruel Prince and I really enjoyed it! I want sure about it for ages but then lay week, when I was downloading my books for the OWLS Magical Readathon, I spotted it for something like 98p on the Kindle store, and couldn’t resist picking it up.


I think I’m one of the last people to read this book, I’ve heard so much about it and heard so many good things about this but I wanted to read it for myself. This book is set in Faerie, which is a land ruled by a King. This book shows a lot of the inner workings of the Fey court, and how the court rules its land. I really enjoyed seeing all that, and how the characters dealt with different situations.

Speaking of characters, there were some characters that I loved, and some (one in particular) that I really disliked! Jude. Jude. JUDE! I thought her character was so good! She was strong and so badass! She was also super smart and just a great character. I know she made some silly decisions sometimes, but overall she was great. Taryn, Jude’s twin sister, is naive, and I think she feels like she’s living in Jude’s shadow a bit? She was alright at the start, but she started doing things that made me not like her as much. Especially after reading The Lost Sisters novella afterwards. Jude and Taryn’s older sister Vivi was cool. I think she was closer to Taryn than Jude, but I think she was a good character. And on to the character that I dislked the most: Cardan. For the majority of the book I hated him. He was a horrible person throughout the book and I just really disliked the things he did and the way he treated people, especially Jude. 

The story was wonderful. I loved the descriptions of the world, especially the castles! I love a good castle! I also loved that the majority of the book was set at night, when the Fey are more active. It made it feel different to a lot of fantasy books that I’ve read. I’ve not read many fey-centred books but I want to read more now.

I loved this book. I was hooked on it so quickly and I flew through it. I honestly couldn’t put it down for a few days. I had a three hour train journey the day I started reading it, and I read nearly half of it there and then! I couldn’t stop. There were so many moments where I was shocked and couldn’t put the book down – especially during the coronation!

Overall I gave this book 4/5 stars, and I’m looking forward to reading The Wicked King at some point (probably next month).


Have you read this book yet? Let me know what you thought!

Here are my socials:  Twitter Instagram Goodreads

7 thoughts on “The Cruel Prince: A Review”

  1. Awesome Review!

    I recently finished reading The Wicked King and enjoyed it even more than The Cruel Prince. Now, I can’t wait for the third book!!

    Like

Leave a comment