Reading Slumps

Now, this isn’t the biggest reading slump I’ve been in (that was my first year of uni) but it’s still a slump. I’m still reading, just not as much as I was earlier this year, or up until the NEWTS readathon in August.

I want to read so many things at the moment, and I’ve picked up my most anticipated reads of this year, I’ve just yet to read them. I know I will eventually, but at the moment, I don’t want to be listening to audiobooks on my way to/from work every day; I want to be listening to podcasts or music. I don’t want to read in the evenings after work, I just want to chill out and watch something on Netflix with my boyfriend, seeing as we don’t get to spend a lot of time together at the moment.

I will always love reading, I just needed a break after my amazing reading month last month, I think. Reading in short bursts is working well for me at the moment, and audiobooks are really helping me keep reading, I just haven’t felt motivated to pick up a book recently.

I’ve currently got 2 audiobooks on the go: Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo and Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman (seeing as The Toll is out this week). I’m enjoying them both, but I’ve not been as motivated as before to read.

I’ve also decided that writing a review for every single book I read isn’t the best idea for me at the moment. I know I said I was going to do this in January, and I got quite far into the year with it, but there are just so many half-finished posts in my drafts, posts about books I can’t fully remember now, that I don’t know if writing the reviews is worth it now. I’ll still post the odd review for books that stand out to me, but I think reviews of every single book I read aren’t going to happen. I think this is mainly because I didn’t anticipate reading as much as I did this year, and the rest of the year.

I love reading, and I hate reading slumps, but I know I’ll be out of this particular slump soon enough. I’ve got so many books that I want to read! Usually I’d reread Harry Potter to get myself out of a slump, but I only have the last two books left and I’m saving them for later in the month, once I’ve finished these two audiobooks and read The Toll.

What books have got you out of reading slumps? Let me know!

Happy reading, everyone!

Here are my socials:  Twitter Instagram Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Reading Slumps”

Leave a comment